top of page
  • Writer's pictureWRIL-FM

Harlan, Letcher, and Knott County students receive scholarships at SKCTC

From Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College -

SKCTC Cumberland Campus

Cumberland, KY – Students enrolled at Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College have received over $90,000 in scholarship aid for the fall 2020 and spring 2021 semesters, according to Dr. Rebecca Johnson, vice-president for student affairs.

This does not include state and federal aid, which totals over $3,200,000 for fall 2020.

Thirty-four of the students receiving scholarships were from Harlan, Letcher, and Knott counties. They are as follows: Zachary Allen, Lynch; Callie Asher, Dayhoit; Hannah Baker, Whitesburg; Baili Bogs, Harlan; Raelyn Brakke, Baxter; Elizabeth Brock, Evarts; Haili Campbell, Neon; Amanda Caudill, Harlan; Madison Cole, Baxter Taylor Conley, Mousie; Kaytlin Cornett, Wallins; James Creech, Cawood; Chad Daniels, Loyall; Stephen Daniel, Cawood; Hannah Edwards, Cumberland; Dixie Ewing, Evarts; Tracy Farley, Wallins; Emma Fisher, Dayhoit; Paighton Freeman, Ages-Brookside; Sheyanna Gladson, Cumberland; Hunter Hensley, Bledsoe; Breaunna Rose, Jenkins; Hannah Jones, Loyall; Taylor Jordan, Loyall; Elihu Lewis, Baxter; Mackenzie Kelly, Evarts; Madison Kelly, Evarts; Emily Long, Harlan; Kaseyann McKendrick, Evarts; McKenzie Miracle, Pathfork; Shalora Neely, Harlan; Emersyn Noah, Baxter; Mika Pascula, Harlan; Timothy Pennington, Cumberland; Kaitlyn Ramsey, Putney; Jimmy Rouse, Wallins; Tommy Saylor, Cumberland; Heather Smith, Cumberland; Madison Tolliver, Putney; Emily Vanover, Whitesburg; and Hannah Wood, Wallins.

The scholarships received by students were funded from almost sixty endowments that have been set up over the years to assist and reward students enrolled on one or more of the college’s <ve campuses.

Several of the funds are listed below: Arch of KY Scholarship, ARH Opportunities in Healthcare Scholarship, ARH Virginia G. Hayes Scholarship, Bob & Edna Bray Johnston Scholarship, Cawood & Helen Smith Scholarship, Christopher Mark Thompson Scholarship, James and Atha Caudill Scholarship, Cloverfork Community Charities Scholarship, Coach Charles and Maxine Hunter Scholarship, Curtis & Estill Parsons Scholarship, Doss Family Scholarship, Lillian Faye Simpson Scholarship, Harlan County Fiscal Court COAL scholarships, Maynard Hogg Scholarship, Robert E. Frazier Scholarship, Sue Godbey Scholarship, Willie Bjork Scholarship, and W. Bruce Ayers Scholarship.

114 views0 comments


bottom of page